City of Central Point, Oregon



140 S 3rd Street, Central Point, OR 97502 541.664.3321 Fax 541.664.6384

Council Me N

Mayor Hank Williams Council Members: Neil Olsen, Kelley Johnson,

City Council

Melody Thueson, Taneea Browning, Rob Hernandez, Michael Parsons

Letter from the City Council

September 21, 2020

I am not a native of Central Point, as I have lived in a couple of other towns during my lifetime. However, never have I been more proud of a hometown like I am now proud of the City of Central Point. I am quite confident that anyone and everyone that saw this City step up during recent unprecedented events would join me in humbly thanking you for your service to our community and region. We have seen the pictures and videos showing your leadership and bravery, which is matched only by your kindness and selflessness.

In this time of uncertainty, when most politicians (except Central Point, of course) are narrowly trusted, we look to our everyday natural leaders to show us how to act. There is no question that you have displayed this leadership through your heroic efforts. You are kind and gentle, yet swift and impactful. You are an examples of how every one of us can put aside our opinions and serve something greater than ourselves. Thank you for your service!!

Our police, public works and fire departments all exemplified what it means to—believe in—and practice service above self. After last week's events, it is clear that the Rogue Valley Community relies on all its members to support one another. Thank you for risking your safety to protect our regional community, specifically those in need of assistance.

As we move forward from this tragedy and work to rebuild our community in the coming months, we have an amazing opportunity to learn from your service, dedication, teamwork, and "get the job done attitude." Thank you for demonstrating what leadership truly is.

Council President Taneea Browning

icil Member Kelley Johnson

ouncil Member Ret Hernandez

In support of this statement:

Mayor Hank Williams

Council Member Neil Olsen

W/M del

Council Member Melody Thueson

Council Member Michael Parsons